Hot-News

...now browsing by tag

 
 

What appears to be my first legitimate pingback…

Wednesday, April 1st, 2009

It’s probably some kind of a crawler, but at least it’s a relevant ping-back to what at first appeared to be a Japanese news aggregator site, the link back to my site was from this page: http://hot-news.dreamhosters.com/anna-david. Following the link, it goes to a page that highlights Anna David, the author of several sex advice columns. I had mentioned her as one of the hosts on a show I was trying out called AOTS: In Your Pants, in my post “Podcast reviews – what’s on my Mac and iPod” I’ve had plenty of spam ping-backs, but at least this looks like a real site; it appears to be more of an informational site than anything else though – the name “Hot News” is really disingenuous – it barely looks like it’s even edited by a human being, probably another spider scraping other sites for content. (I wonder if this increases their search ranking in Google?).

Oh – and the reason I thought it was a Japanese site is because when I followed the link from my WordPress Admin, all the Google Ads there were in Japanese! (weird), subsequent ads were in English, I wonder why a referrer from my domain brings up Japanese Ads? I’m not even Japanese… :P If anyone has any ideas, could you please leave a comment?

The Hot News Page with Japanese Ads

 

The Hot News Page with English Ads